Skip to content


Aboriginal employment opportunities

Aims to increase employment opportunities for Aboriginal Victorians.

On this page

  • Get support with training mentoring and work placements

Karreeta Yirramboi (KY) aims to increase the rate of employment of Aboriginal people in the public service to at least 1% of the total workforce by 2018.

Key focuses on:

  • increasing Aboriginal employment across the public sector
  • retention of existing Aboriginal employees
  • career development
  • providing employment across a range of areas.

The Employment Start Up for Aboriginal Job Seekers program assists Aboriginal jobseekers by providing training, mentoring and work placements.

Department of State Development, Business & Innovation
Indigenous Economic Development Unit

Contact: Jan McCalman
Tel: 1800 110 109

Melbourne Metropolitan Region

Victorian Aboriginal Community Service Association (VACSAL)
Contact: Christian Gaylard
Email: christian.gaylard@vacsal.org.au

St. Kilda Youth Services
Contact: Trisha Silvers
Email:trisha@skys.org.au

Dandenong Region

Victorian Rugby Union - Access Rugby Program
Contact: Nic Henderson
Email: nick.henderson@melbournerebels.com.au

Collingwood Football Club

City of Yarra and Melbourne North East region
Contact: David Emmerson
Email: DavidE@collingwoodfc.com.au
Contact: Traci McCormick
Email: Traci.McCormick@aflsportsready.com.au

Essendon Football Club

North West Melbourne and Melton area
Contact: Cameron Britt
Email: CBritt@essendonfc.com.au
Contact: Arnel Davis
Email: ADavis@essendonfc.com.au

A.R.T. Employment Pty
In partnership with Woolworths' targeting the Geelong, Bendigo and Melbourne West regions.
Contact: Allan Jones
Email: a.jones@artemployment.com.au

Regional Areas

City of Albury/Wodonga
Contact: Alicia Wheatley
Email: awheatley@wodonga.vic.gov.au

Ballarat Region

Worn Gundidj
Contact: Shannon Collyer
Email: employment1@worngundidj.org.au

Bendigo Region

Aboriginal Recruitment Training Employment (A.R.T. Employment)
Contact: Allan Jones
Email: a.jones@artemployment.com.au

East Gippsland Region

Link Employment & Training
Contact: Terry Breheny
Email: terry.breheny@linkemploy.org.au

Glenelg Region

Worn Gundidj
Contact: Shannon Collyer
Email: employment1@worngundidj.org.au

Greater Shepparton, Echuca & surrounding districts

Rumbalara Football & Netball Club (Rumba Ripples Program)
Contact: Chris Linehan
Email: chris.linehan99@gmail.com

Kaiela Institute
Contact: Chris Giblin
Email: c.giblin@kaielainstitute.org.au

Greater Geelong Region

Aboriginal Recruitment Training Employment (A.R.T. Employment)
Contact: Allan Jones
Email: a.jones@artemployment.com.au

Swan Hill Region

Swan Hill Rural City Council
Contact: Steve Matthews
Email: smatthews@swanhill.vic.gov.au

Mildura Region

Mildura Rural City Council
Contact: Clint Colaiacovo
Email: Clint.Colaiacovo@mildura.vic.gov.au

Victorian Rugby Union - Access Rugby Program
Contact: Nic Henderson
Email: nick.henderson@melbournerebels.com.au

Industry Brokers offering State-wide Coverage

Municipal Association Victoria - Local Government
Contact: Rosemary Hancock
Email: RHancock@mav.asn.au

Contact: Lidia Thorpe
Email:  LThorpe@mav.asn.au

Australian Retailers Association - Retail
Contact: Caroline Mews
Email: caroline.mews@retail.org.au

Victorian Transport Association - Transport and Distribution
Contact: Kerri Langes
Email: Kerri@vta.com.au

Tigers in the Community - Women's Project
Contact: Elizabeth Allen
Email: employment@kgi.org.au

Justice Broker - people exiting prisons

Group Training Association of Victoria
Contact: Barry Rickards
Email: barry@gtavic.asn.au

Case Study: Using local knowledge to build a better agency

'When the organisation's culture can support an employee, great things can happen.'
Dixie Patten, Rumba Ripples

Read more about his story of growing confidence and success.

Attracting major clients